Global News

Poll dates for Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh today

Poll dates for Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh today

The Election Commission is likely to announce the dates for Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections which are scheduled to take place at the end of the year.

While on a Gujarat visit to check the poll preparations, Chief Election Commissioner A K Joti has already said that the elections will be held in December but he can not give a firm date.

The tenure of 182-member Gujarat assembly is due to end on January 22, 2018. Earlier this week, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti had said the Gujarat polls will, "without doubt", be held in December this year.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh was announced as the party's Chief Ministerial candidate by Congress President Rahul Gandhi recently. As per sources, Gujarat elections will be held in 2 phases while the Himachal elections will be in a single phase.

Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh election date likely to be declared by EC today. "Assembly Elections will mostly be conducted in December", Joti said while addressing a press conference.

Harvey Weinstein Reported As Being Suicidal; Friend Denies Report
However, officers at the scene said Remy claimed no suicidal statements were made and that the dispute was simply a family issue. Both outlets indicate that police left shortly after arriving when it was determined that it was merely a family argument.

For the first time, the poll panel will also introduce all-women polling stations in Gujarat in all assembly segments.

Himachal's 68-member Assembly is ruled by the Congress which has 36 seats to BJP's 26. The strength in the 182-member Gujarat House now comprises 118 BJP MLAs, 42 from the Congress, two from the NCP, and one from JD (U).

Without waiting for the announcement of the polls dates, political parties have already begun their poll campaigns.

After the recently-held summary revision campaign in Gujarat, as many as 10.46 lakh new voters were added, out of which 3.20 lakh are first-time voters.