Mayfield, Love, Jackson Named Heisman Finalists

Mayfield, Love, Jackson Named Heisman Finalists

Mayfield, who just led Oklahoma to the Big 12 Championship and a spot in the College Football Playoff, is considered by many to be the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy.

Alongside Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield and Stanford running back Bryce Love, Jackson will be in New York City for the ceremony at 8 p.m Saturday.

Mayfield was a finalist for the award previous year, which was won by Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson. Former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin is the only two-time victor, having earned the Heisman in 1974 and 1975.

Jackson won the 2016 Heisman Trophy and vies to be the second two-time victor.

The 83rd Heisman Trophy victor will be announced Saturday during a ceremony that will be televised by ESPN starting at 8 p.m. He's thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns. He also has five rushing touchdowns on the year.

Manchester United v CSKA Moscow
United's record signing was instrumental against Arsenal on Saturday as he set up two goals in his team's 3-1 win at the Emirates. Mourinho said he will not risk the 29-year-old for the match, with United requiring a point to secure top spot in Group A.

The Georgia Bulldogs will certainly have their hands full with Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield in the Rose Bowl.

If it holds, Mayfield's efficiency rating of 203.8 would shatter the record he set a year ago of 196.39.

Including his 125 yards in the Pac-12 title game against USC, the junior came through with 1,973 rushing yards and 17 touchdowns, showcasing his ability as arguably the best pure runner in the nation.

Jackson's completed 60.4 percent of his passes, throwing for 3,489 yards, 25 touchdowns and six interceptions.

No. 2-ranked OU, which behind Mayfield leads the nation in yards per game (583.3) and yards per play (8.4; next highest is 7.6), will make its 51st bowl appearance when it takes on No. 3 Georgia in the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual on January 1 at 4:10 p.m. CT.