Drivers slow down for Daytona 500 Media Day

Drivers slow down for Daytona 500 Media Day

What that means is all 40 drivers were assured a starting position in the Daytona 500, and the qualifying races Thursday will be void of any drama.

But despite the event's slow speeds, Sunday's race was still front and center for all of them. Danica Patrick is back for what she says is her last NASCAR race and the youth movement runs apace, with fans having the opportunity to pick a new favorite driver from the likes of Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Erik Jones, Alex Bowman, William Byron and Daniel Suarez.

Keselowski has yet to win the Daytona 500 but is likely the best restrictor-place racer on the circuit now that Earnhardt Jr. has retired. His son Dale Jr. took over as the sport's most popular driver by far and won two Daytona 500s but retired after last season.

"I thought our auto was pretty good", said Martin Truex, Jr., the 2017 NASCAR points champion. That includes 2017 victor Kurt Busch. Bowman won the pole on Sunday.

The race will be televised live at 7:30 pmet on FS1.

Radio: Performance Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90.

Prayer service to be held for Grand Canyon crash victims
They were airlifted to University Medical Center in Las Vegas early Sunday morning, about eight hours after the crash occurred. Kineally, who has more than 35 years of nursing experience, slid down the rocky slope to reach the crash site.

Only 36 trucks are entered for the Camping World Truck Series race Friday so four teams will be packing up and headed home.

What would it be like if the Super Bowl was the NFL's first game of a season instead of its last? Johnson's last Daytona victory was in 2013 when he won the 500 and then the July race.

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 10: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M's Toyota, stands in the garage area during practice for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway on Feb. 10, 2018, in Daytona Beach, Fla. Kyle Busch crashed out of last year's race after winning the first stage; his brother Kurt was the victor and is +2500 to be the first repeat champion since Sterling Marlin in 1994-95. Christopher Bell was last year's series champion, but has graduated to a full-time Xfinity Series ride and will not be defending his title.

Error! There was an error processing your request.

Andrew is a sports anchor and sports managing editor for Spectrum News.

Get daily prep sports headlines from the Gwinnett Daily Post staff delivered to your email.