Global News

BJP Trails in CM Yogi Gorakhpur, Dy CM Maurya's Phulpur

BJP Trails in CM Yogi Gorakhpur, Dy CM Maurya's Phulpur

According to the Election Commission, there are total 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency while 19.49 lakh voters are registered in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency. At the end of round 2, the SP took a lead of 1,500 votes, after which the SP kept on increasing its lead.

The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively, following their election to the state legislative council. Nishad is the leader of NISHAD party, which is headed by his father Sanjay Nishad.

In a big setback for UP CM Yogi Adityanath, in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat bypolls counting, BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla was behind by 1523 votes.

Meanwhile, in Gorakhpur, District Magistrate Rajiv Routela said as per EC instructions, there will be restrictions on victory processions after the results.

A total of 47 per cent polling was recorded in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypoll. In Gorakhpur, the SP has fielded Praveen Kumar Nishad, the son of Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad, as its candidate. Gorakhpur is a home of BJP and Yogi Adityanath Since 1989. But it was triangular fight at Gorakhpur between the BJP, SP-BSP and the Congress. In the initial rounds of counting, BJP is leading in both seats.

World stocks inch higher ahead of US inflation data
In February, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI ) kept interest rates unchanged and warned that inflation risks were skewing upwards. Excluding the volatile food and energy components, the CPI gained 0.2 percent after accelerating 0.3 percent in January.

The UP government as well as the state BJP has prepared a long celebrations and programmes for the anniversary starting from March 18 next but the results which is slated to go against the party has dampen the spirit of the party rank and file.

Initially the postal ballots were being counted after which the electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be opened for counting.

Mr Rautela told reporters, "You can shoot as much as you want".

All opposition parties would be keenly watching the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party experiment where they pooled their resources to combine against the BJP.

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 9924 votes with 87,272 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 77,348 votes after eight round of counting. The Bhabua seat is witnessing a straight contest between BJP's Rinki Pandey and Congress' Shambhu Singh Patel.